Temperance: A Tarot Card Reading

My mom has always been into tarot card readings and visited a couple psychics. She’s been told that she herself harnesses ‘psychic’ abilities, but she never deeply explored that area of her life. I have always wanted to go to a psychic simply because my mom’s visits have always been enlightening and deep.

I’m sure there are plenty who will read this and dismiss it as fantasy, similar to horoscope readings. But in all honesty, how unlikely is it that there may be people who can sense energy we no longer observe? We are vibrations and electrical pulses. Everything, including ourselves, emit energy. If our physical form fails us for whatever reason, natural or not, does our energy cease to exist? I think not.

In any case, maybe I will go deeper into those beliefs another time. This post is meant to introduce the temperance tarot card. Why? Because my mother mentioned pulling a card a little while ago and I decided I would, too. That was the card that came to me.

I anticipate that this card will encompass a couple or perhaps even a few posts. Not only is there a lot to the card, but I have had much time to deliberate its meaning in my life as well as its general purpose to the world. So, allow me to deconstruct a little. I thank you for bearing with me.

“The temperance card is the Tarot’s way of indicating that peace will not be arriving, because you already have it within you.”

temperance

I have reached a point in my life where I am capable of embracing the fact that the idea of attachment is harmful. I say idea because that’s exactly what it is. Personally, I see it as a delusional concept that detaches us from one another, as well as our environment and experiences. This is where I feel I can (at least partially) connect with Buddhist beliefs.

We are whole individuals who are capable of conscious thought and decisions. Whereas animals mostly function in a way that is quite basic, restricting decisions to the most ideal and best outcome for survival, humans are able to predict and move towards the most desirable outcome.

Desire is not the driving force that you should be allowing behind the steering wheel. Desire breeds attachment of all kinds; false notions of happiness.

As a psychology student, the important of operational definitions has been ingrained into me. So, I will do my best to define attachment as I see it and speak of it here.

As mentioned above, attachment separates us from not only each other, but our environment and experiences as well. If we have our mind set on one outcome, we are likely to take what does happen for granted.

For example, remember that time you had your heart set on eating mint chocolate chip ice cream but found out there was none left, so you had to “settle” for heavenly hash? Me too! And even though I really enjoy heavenly hash in all its glory, I was still left with a lingering and off-putting sense of disappointment. I was not able to enjoy it as much as I should have. I was lucky to be getting ice cream in the first place.

But that sense of attachment to mint chocolate chip ice cream made me incapable of truly appreciating the wonders of something different. Can you imagine how detrimental this can be on a larger, more important scale?

It’s attachment that places those nagging “what if” questions in your mind and leads you to repeat bad habits and patterns. It is what keeps you from giving yourself the freedom you need to let go and create the new.

Do not mistake attachment for love. Love is not meant to hold you back and keep you down, as attachment does. You are whole; not only with yourself but with your environment, too. It is natural for things and people to come and go. You do not share a path with anyone; it is yours and yours alone.

“Attachment is the great fabricator of illusions; reality can be attained only by someone who is detached.”

You see the truth in this when you take a step back from a situation that makes you angry. Anger, the illusion, pushes you to behave fueled by emotions alone. Detaching oneself from the situation allows you to breathe and think through the best course of action, without the emotional veil.

It all comes down to the self, which is the core idea in the quote at the beginning of this post. Peace cannot come to you when it is already there. You just have to let yourself truly embrace it.

~ by Moonstruck on March 12, 2014.

5 Responses to “Temperance: A Tarot Card Reading”

  1. I completely agree with everything you said. Great post

Leave a Reply

 
