Disclaimer.

flawed-2

I would like to add a disclaimer just to remind potential readers of my humanity. That may sound egotistical, in the sense that I could come off as sounding as though others think much higher of me than they do. But it is only because I know that when you hear one side of a story, you’re prone to bias and empathizing more with that side.

I just want to remind people that I too, have caused harm. I’ve been selfish, impatient, and insecure. I’ve taken too long to make decisions and kept people waiting. I’m sure I’ve made someone feel used, insignificant, and maybe even afraid.

At some point in time I’ve made another human being feel fragile.

I have hurt the people I love, let them down, smothered them with my own insecurities and flaws. My humanity has radiated over my relationships, romantic and otherwise, throughout my life.

I have been someone else’s poison.

So for all the heartache and lessons I pour into this blog and anywhere else into the world, there is another side waiting to be heard. I hope to keep my mistakes to a minimum and consistently learn from them. I put a lot of effort into thinking things through, waiting for the right moments, remaining calm under pressure, but I still slip. As long as I can keep from repeating the same mistakes, I know I’ve done something right.

When I let go of someone, even when the relationships is toxic, I am still capable of appreciating the happy memories. They are not lost on me and I will miss them from time to time. There is only one person I have erased completely and it will stay that way for good reason.

I am truly sorry for the harm I have caused, whether it be through prosecution of greed, failure to switch viewpoints, or even from my overbearing struggle with mental illness. Despite the bad I understand that you, too, have a story with your own trials.

& I sincerely wish you the best of luck

fragile

Danielle Tunstall Photography

“Yeah I know you care.
I see it in the way you stare,
as if there were trouble ahead and you knew it.
I’ll be saving myself from the ruin,
and I know you care.”

You will never completely understand another person and the things they have gone through, as hard as you may try. This is not your fault, nor is it theirs. If you can understand and accept that, then forgiveness won’t seem so foreign.

~ by Moonstruck on March 1, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
