Don’t suppress yourself with comfort, I beg of you.

comfort zone 2

I have a terrible stress headache and my stomach is urging me to consume something. However I’m so tired after work and my exam, that I can’t bring myself to get up and fulfill this basic need. Why do we do that to ourselves? Countless times I fail to get up and go to the washroom, get water, or feed myself because I’m too comfortable at the time. It makes me think – being comfortable is the ultimate roadblock.

I’ve experienced this idea with social anxiety as well. The anxiety consuming you and forcing you to recline back into a state of being comfortable; one that is, for a person with the disorder, much too isolated. We go as far to deprive ourselves of the social contact we crave, the opportunities we long for, all just to be back in that comfort zone. Anything outside of it is much too harmful and could result in change. Change is ultimately bad, all the time, no excuses… right? Of course not, that’s ridiculous.

I have always known self-awareness to be a large part in maintaining inner peace and restoring order in a crisis. But the missing piece was this: being comfortable with the uncomfortable. Once you can master the art of such a paradox, you will be free. If we can learn to love being scared because of rollercoasters and haunted houses, then why can’t stepping out of our comfort zone be just as thrilling?

It can and I will make it so. That’s my newest goal and I’ve already taken quite a few steps towards it, having been to therapy for social anxiety and becoming more comfortable with others (not to mention with myself). I just need to maintain focus and keep pushing. Reminding myself that the end result is worth every red face, every dry mouth, and every ounce of anxiety that I may experience.

In the end, the only person really paying attention to your every move is you. You’re the only one who sees every single step you take. The crowd isn’t hearing your stutter and they don’t even notice that your palms are sweaty. So relax and enjoy the ride. Feel the quick jump in your stomach as you fall from that first, steep hill, and smile.

Scream if you have to!

You can do it. I believe in you and so should you. Please allow everyone to see what you’re capable of. I whole-heartedly believe you are a gift. As cliché as this may be, you’re the only you, and I want to see everything you have to offer.

“We’re too much ourselves. Afraid of letting go of what we are,
i
n case we are nothing, and holding on so tight,
we lose everything else.”  –
Clive Barker

~ by Moonstruck on July 22, 2013.

2 Responses to “Don’t suppress yourself with comfort, I beg of you.”

  1. Making ourselves vulnerable by pushing ourselves into something we fear can actually be rewarding ourselves with one of the most exhilarating adventures of a life time–that we would otherwise have missed. I enjoyed this post very much. Nice job!

Leave a Reply

 
