To endure is to thrive.

rose

Did you hear about the rose that grew
from a crack in the concrete?
Proving nature’s law is wrong it
learned to walk with out having feet.
Funny it seems, but by keeping its dreams,
it learned to breathe fresh air.
Long live the rose that grew from concrete
when no one else ever cared.

– Tupac Shakur

It is often that I feel that there is nothing left in me, and then the sun rises.

After reading a blog post by a close friend (here), I’ve decided to lay down my own foundation of stamina; outline my beginning. I wish to recognize my personal setbacks and set out to change them for the better.

Attitude

“I can do this. I’m going to do this. Nothing is going to stop me.”

I’ve already adapted an attitude that allows me to put myself before others where I couldn’t before. I am capable of deciding what it is I’d like to do and adhering to it, rather than allowing others to change my mind and shift my own schedule. I am no longer traveling all over the place to see people – I know that they’re capable of traveling to see me, too. Work is a priority, but I need to push that over to school more. I know I can do better with controlling my procrastination and lack of focus regarding school work.

prioritize school.

Sometimes I feel as though I can do everything; that I want to do everything. I wish I could hold on to that feeling and let it guide me through life. But I must work harder to make that a natural mode of thought. Healthy thoughts create healthy attitudes.

Purpose

“Why are you doing this? How will your life be different upon the task’s or goal’s completion? How will you feel? Why is it important?”

help

I am going to school to achieve my end goal of becoming a psychologist, which is on the whole, is a goal to help my fellow human beings. I am currently working at Friends & Advocates Peel to gain experience in my field and collect money in order to pay off school debt and have the ability to pay rent and eat. Once my summer position has ended, I will find another job in order to continue saving money.

To become a psychologist will mean achieving the highest possible position in my career. It will mean being taken seriously in the mental health field, being able to help more people, and will reflect long-lasting perseverance and hard work. I will feel an immense amount of pride in the work I do and the person I am.

As for its importance, well… there’s a lot to that. I’ll save that for a separate post.

Health Habits

Eating healthy has always come easy to me, generally. I do crave chocolate pretty often and have freely eaten sweets because I have a high metabolism and can stuff my face with no physical results. So I think my focus shouldn’t really be eating healthier things, because I do that all the time, but rather indulging in less sweets. I also need to eat more often throughout the day. I have a terrible habit of forgetting to eat or just not making time to.

I’ve become a pescatarian since I’ve never really enjoyed eating large amounts of meat. It usually makes me feel sick afterwards. I can’t remember the last time I was able to finish a full burger before having to give up. Veggie burgers thought, I could eat all day. Mmmhm! Sweet potato burgers are also awesome. I recently did groceries and stayed away from bad snack foods and I no longer buy loaves of bread. I stick to roti and naan.

I practiced yoga and ran for quite a while and definitely need to get back into that. Meditation is something else I really need to start up again. This is an area that requires much focus. I’ve already looked into buying a padded yoga mat.

Eliminating Desire

I hate Facebook and deleted it for a few months, but since I no longer have a phone, it was the best way to keep in contact with people. Also, I dislike making things more difficult for others so I got it back for the sake of events, too. I need to limit the amount of logins I have each day. It’s become quite the annoying habit to log in for 2mins at a time, 30 times a day.

I should organize my tumblr blogs more by using the queue feature. That way I can still be active on them but it will waste less time.

Lists of more productive yet enjoyable things to do would be useful. Reading, researching interesting topics, reading education/health blogs, budgeting, and other such things could be included. If I have chores to do, I need to do them in a timely matter rather than allowing myself to lounge in between, thus stretching them out longer than they need to be. To do lists should be made around 4:00pm each day (since I finish work at 4:30pm).

I need more goal oriented pastimes.

Rewarding Yourself

Just as I have a list of productive and enjoyable items, I can have a rewards list. Things that don’t do much other than keep me entertained. Movies, watching a show, hanging out with people, listening to music, and other such things. Perhaps I should allocate a set amount of time I have each week for such things, just to avoid over-rewarding.

It would be great if I could find a way to make the productive things feel more rewarding. They should be, but with long-term goals it’s easy to lose sight of the end and become distracted. I will brainstorm!

Passion

This is key, in my opinion. If I can provide more passion into the productive parts of my life, they will become inherently rewarding. Not that they aren’t ever rewarding to beging with, but things like depression and hopelessness are a factor. Which ties in to better eating and exercise habits. It all fits like a pretty puzzle.

Time Management & Organization

Lists. Schedules. Notebooks. Knowing my responsibilities as a student, an employee, a friend, and a family member. Constant awareness of expectations (mostly my own). Reminding myself each day why I need to maintain these schedules.

Ultimately, I need to stop sabotaging myself.

meditation

 

~ by Moonstruck on July 3, 2013.

One Response to “To endure is to thrive.”

  1. […] To endure is to thrive. (moonstruckmicrocosm.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

 
